May 30, 2013

UAMS College of Pharmacy Student Selected for National Leadership Program

LITTLE ROCK – Josh Brown, a third-year student at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) College of Pharmacy, has been selected as one of 40 health care students in the country to participate in the Paul Ambrose Scholars Program ( ).

Brown is the fifth UAMS student pharmacist to be named as an Ambrose Scholar. Past recipients were Sarah Frank Uroza ’07, Pharm.D., Eric Crumbaugh ’08, Pharm.D., and Ashley Castleberry ’11 Pharm.D., Corey Hayes ’13.

The program is planned and implemented by the Association for Prevention Teaching and Research, the professional organization for the academic public health community dedicated to prevention research and professional education.  It introduces health professions students to influential public health professionals and prepares them to be leaders in addressing public health challenges.

The honor means Brown will attend a three-day leadership symposium June 20-23, 2013, with 40 health professions students from across the country with similar interests in prevention and public health. He also will implement a funded and mentored community project. He will receive a $200 reimbursable micro-grant to assist with project-related costs, as well as a travel stipend.

The Symposium provides skills-based training by leaders in public health. Past speakers have included Surgeons General, public health officials, industry experts and veteran public health practitioners.

With his micro grant, Brown will work with media outlets to provide assistance to people seeking Medicare Part D plans.  Via a link on the outlets websites, seniors would be connected to UAMS College of Pharmacy students who will help them find the right plan for their particular medical needs.

Brown, of Van Buren, is the son of Karen and David Brown. He attended Van Buren High School and the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville prior to attending UAMS.

At UAMS, he is a member of Rho Chi Honor Society and Kappa Psi Pharmaceutical Fraternity. He also serves as president of a newly founded graduate student chapter of the International Society for Pharmacoeconomics and Outcomes Research and is a graduate student in the College’s Pharmaceutical Evaluation and Policy program.

The scholars program is posthumously named for Paul W. Ambrose, M.D., M.P.H., a rising star in the field of prevention and public health who died in 2001. At the time of his death, Ambrose worked for the Association of Teachers of Preventive Medicine and the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, serving as the seventh Luther Terry Fellow.